UMS logo

Welcome to the Society

The Ulster Medical Society is a general medical society based in Northern Ireland. Full membership is open to all registered medical practitioners; student membership is open to medical students based in the UK or the Republic of Ireland; and associate membership is available to certain registered health professionals. Please see the Membership page for details.

The objects of the Society are to improve the care of the sick and to promote and advance health and medical science by widening, improving and developing the education and knowledge of all concerned in medical matters.

In furtherance of these objects we publish the Ulster Medical Journal in three issues annually and arrange a series of lectures starting in October and ending in March or April.

The Society is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland. Our Charity Registration Number is NIC104845.

Through the kindness of the Queen's University of Belfast the Society has its own rooms in the Whitla Medical Building, Lisburn Road, Belfast.

Joining the Society

If you are not a member of the Ulster Medical Society, we would appeal to you to give the question of joining your consideration. By doing so you will enable us to widen its influence and sphere of usefulness still further, and we would hope that you would benefit from the meetings, the journal, and social contacts.

Email addresses

Quite a number of members have submitted their email addresses and information about lectures is sent to them regularly. Please contact the Administrator if you would like to be included on the list.


The 2023–24 session began on Thursday 12 October. Details of future lectures will be found on the Meetings page.



The Council of the Ulster Medical Society consists of the President, the office-bearers and six members. All posts are honorary. Changes in the Presidential Posts occur on the installation of the incoming President during the opening meeting in October. All Council Members take up their posts at the end of the Annual General Meeting at which they were elected.

Please contact our Administrator if you would be interested in joining the Council.

Presidential Posts  2023 – 2024

President:Dr A Thiraviaraj
Past President:Professor N Hart
President Elect:  Dr M Roberts

Council Members  2023 – 2024

Ms L Fitzpatrick
Secretaries:Dr G Greenfield and Dr AN Metcalfe
Treasurer:Professor MF McMullan
Assistant Treasurer:Ms GM Gallagher
Editor:Professor DJ Armstrong
Recruitment Secretary:  vacant
Junior Member:Dr AN Metcalfe
Student Member:Ms J McNulty
Members 2021/24:Dr JC McMillan, Dr CM Wilson
Members 2022/25:Dr R Conn, Dr H O'Hara
Members 2023/26:Dr R Plumb, Dr A Keaney


The Society Administrator is Deborah Millar.

The future

Council is keen to see the Society thrive in the Third Millennium. Any member with suggestions for ways in which the Society could be improved is encouraged to speak or write to anyone on Council.

Site updated 01 January 2024
No cookies are set by this site