UMS logo

Welcome to the Society

The Ulster Medical Society is a general medical society based in Northern Ireland. Full membership is open to all medical practitioners who are registered or eligibile to be registered, student membership is open to medical students, and associate membership is available to other health professionals such as nurses who are registered or eligible to be registered.

The objects of the Society are to improve the care of the sick and to promote and advance health and medical science by widening, improving and developing the education and knowledge of all concerned in medical matters.

In furtherance of these objects we publish the Ulster Medical Journal in three issues annually and arrange a series of lectures starting in October and ending in March or April.

The Society is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland. Our Charity Registration Number is NIC104845.

Through the kindness of the Queen's University of Belfast the Society has its own rooms in the Whitla Medical Building, Lisburn Road, Belfast.

Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday 11 May at 5pm in the Ulster Medical Society Council Room. Download the Agenda

Joining the Society

If you are not a member of the Ulster Medical Society, we would appeal to you to give the question of joining your consideration. By doing so you will enable us to widen its influence and sphere of usefulness still further, and we would hope that you would benefit from the meetings, journal and social contacts.



The Council of the Ulster Medical Society consists of the President, the office-bearers and six members. Elections to Council are held during the Annual General Meeting in May and the President is installed during the opening meeting in October.

Honorary Council Members  2016 – 2017

President:Professor PJ Morrison
Past President:Dr MO McBride
President Elect:Ms A Carragher
Secretary:Dr A Keaney
Assistant Secretary:  Mr FG McGinnity
Treasurer:Dr FJ Stewart
Assistant Treasurer:  Dr K Savage
Editor:Dr JA Purvis
Archivist:Dr CW Mathews
Recruitment Secretary:    Dr R Smith
Junior Member:Dr J Thompson
Members 2014/17:Dr JJ Craig, Dr JI Logan
Members 2015/18:Mr E Mackle, Ms A Carragher
Members 2016/19:Dr RL Miller, Dr JC McMillan


The Society Administrator is Mrs Kathy Clarke.

The future

Council is keen to see the Society thrive in the Third Millennium. Any member with suggestions for ways in which the Society could be improved is encouraged to speak or write to anyone on Council.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS

Site updated 22 April 2017
No cookies are set by this site